Piano Quintets



First name: Vladimir
Last name: Bokes
Dates: 1946
Category: Quintet
Nationality: Slovakian
Opus name: Coll'Age Opus 28 (1979)
Publisher: Slovakia
Peculiarities: Hellerau F 525; http://www.hc.sk/en/hudba/diela/?n=&k=040105&o=&d_od=&d_do=&r_od=&r_do=&vp-page=2
Information: 1960 – 1965 studied cello and composition with Juraj Pospíšil at the Bratislava Conservatory 1965 – 1970 continued composition studies with Alexander Moyzes and Dezider Kardoš at the Academy of Performing Arts in Bratislava 1970 – 1975 taught music theory at the Bratislava Conservatory 1975 – 1982 lectured on theoretical subjects at the Academy of Performing Arts since 1982 teaches composition at the Academy of Performing Arts 1993 received professorship at the Academy of Performing Arts 1993 – 1998 chairman of the Festival Committee of the International Festival of Contemporary Music Melos-Ethos 2002 – 2014 chairman of the Slovak Music Fund Council “Bokes's work was from the beginning influenced by the poetry of the Second Viennese School, dodecaphony and serialism, as well as post-war avant-garde technologies (Sequenza, 1965; Piano Trio, 1967). Bokes later remained faithful to these rational methods of creating musical material. In searching for his own way he came through polyrhythm and polymeter through aleatoric music, while unifying elements in his compositions became the principles of the golden section, Fibonacci series, which he applied to the horizontal and vertical parameter of a musical work (Nocturne, 1975; The Way of Silence, 1977; Good Day, Mr. Fibonacci, 1977; Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, 1976). He combines absolute control and organization with the principles of aleatory (Lines for 12 Singers, 1978). In doing so confronts the principles of strict organization with random operations. The focus of Bokes's work lies in orchestral and chamber music. His orientation to technologies of avant-garde 'Western music' caused a ban of public performances and radio broadcasting of his compositions in the 1980s." (GODÁROVÁ, Katarína: Vladimír Bokes. In: 100 slovenských skladate?ov. Ed. Marián Jurík, Peter Zagar. Bratislava : Národné hudobné centrum, 1998, p. 51.)