Piano Quintets



First name: Rosemary
Last name: Mountain
Dates: 1954
Category: Quintet
Nationality: Canadian
Opus name: Reflections/refractions of an irregular pearl Skipping from I.S. to S.R.(1983)
Publisher: Canadian Music Centre
Peculiarities: http://www.musiccentre.ca/node/24542
Information: Rosemary Mountain completed her Bachelor of Music in theory and composition in 1980 at the University of Western Ontario. Subsequently, she graduated with a Master of Music in composition in 1986 and a Ph.D. in music theory in 1993, both from the University of Victoria. She has studied with Peter Paul Koprowski, Margaret Henry, Douglas Collinge, and Rudolph Komorous. Her oeuvre contains over 40 pieces for a wide range of instrumentation from solo violin to chamber orchestra, and includes several electroacoustic works. She has had pieces performed throughout Canada, as well as many European countries such as Portugal, Belgium and Hungary. Rosemary Mountain currently lives in Montréal.